Day 3: The Hallo-Wiener & Wayside School

Yikes.  I sure cut it close today. J goes to bed at 8pm on the weekends, and here it is an hour later and we just finished our play time.  He had football practice this morning and this afternoon I took J & E to a party an hour away.  They both fell asleep on the way home (it was already dark), but I gave him the choice to wake up and play or just be carried to bed.  Despite the heavy limbs, he opted for play.  Curled up on the couch with a blanket, the only thing he could think of  to do was a science experiment involving a fine-toothed comb–something we don’t have.  He was not interested in coloring or hangman again.  He asked what I wanted to play, and I suggested a different science experiment that we have everything for.  Nope.  So I broke one of my rules (gasp!):  I suggested reading his library book (The Hallo-Wiener) and some chapters from Sideways Stories from Wayside School, which we were already reading.  He got very excited, and true to Louis Sachar, we both had some laughs despite the fatigue.

Now J and Dad just fell asleep.  H & E have been asleep for some time.  My turn.  Good night, all.

Day 3 stats: Reading, 20 minutes, Broke a rule, Waited until the 11th hour, No regrets.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 3: The Hallo-Wiener & Wayside School

  1. This is a cool idea. I admire that you’re committed for such noble reasons, even though the end result is still such a win/win. And I, too, am a firm believer in telling people (via blog, et al.) about something you fear you won’t follow through on. That way the stakes are higher and you have less temptation to cheat.

    Commitment rules. Good luck with the rest of the month. I look forward to reading about it.

  2. Karen Baker

    You’re doing good!!

Leave a Reply

